Commissioners

Left to Right -- Vice Chair Hal Floyd, Marshelle Thaxton, Scotty Tillery, Chairman Jennifer Hulsey, Jose Iglesias, and Chuck Thaxton


The board of commissioners is comprised of 6 part time commissioners serving 4 years each. Elections are staggered every two years. Each commissioner must reside within 1 of 3 geographic districts, but are elected on a county-wide ballot. The Chairman is elected by the commission at the first meeting of the year.

Mission Statement

Provide the citizens of Polk County with exemplary governmental services while maintaining fiscal discipline and responsible oversight.

Vision Statement

Polk County will be the premier County in Northwest Georgia to live, work, and raise a family, with an open and efficient government which works with its citizens, local businesses and organizations to facilitate thoughtful economic growth and prosperity. In doing so, Polk County will provide solution-oriented services to the community through the application of standards, consistency and planning, with focus on public safety, creation of employment opportunities, and enhancement of quality of life.

  • Jennifer Lankford Hulsey (Chairman)Jennifer Lankford Hulsey (Chairman)
    144 West Avenue
    Cedartown, GA 30125
    770-749-2100 (office)
    404-694-2470 (cell)
    jhulsey@polkga.org
  • Hal Floyd (Vice Chairman)Hal Floyd (Vice Chairman)
    144 West Avenue
    Cedartown, GA 30125
    770-749-2100 (office)
    hfloyd@polkga.org
  • Marshelle ThaxtonMarshelle Thaxton
    31 Spur Street
    Rockmart, GA 30153
    770-749-2100 (office)
    770-634-7896 (Cell)
    mthaxton@polkga.org
  • Jose IglesiasJose Iglesias
    144 West Avenue
    Cedartown, GA.30125
    770-749-2100 (office)
    678-347-5816 (cell)
    jiglesias@polkga.org
  • Scotty TilleryScotty Tillery

    144 West Avenue
    Cedartown, GA 30125
    770-749-2100 (office)
    stillery@polkga.org

  • Chuck ThaxtonChuck Thaxton

    144 West Avenue
    Cedartown, GA 30125
    770-4749-2100 (office)
    cthaxton@polkga.org

Hours: 9:00AM to 5:00PM
Monday - Friday

Phone: 770-749-2100
Fax: 770-748-5520

Polk County Board of Commissioners
144 West Ave. Suite B
Cedartown, GA 30125